Michelle Tumolo and Ally Kennedy

GEICO Defensive Player of the Year Voting Opens Thursday for Lacrosse

Winner to receive $5,000 bonus

© Athletes Unlimited, LLC 2021 / Credit: Kait Devir
Athletes Unlimited
Aug 18, 2021

The GEICO Defensive Player of The Year (DPOY) will be making its return for the inaugural Athletes Unlimited Lacrosse season. Athletes Unlimited will be awarding the winner of the award with a $5,000 bonus.

The league has identified the three finalists based on defensive statistics: Becca Block, Ella Simkins and Kayla Wood. Now, players and paying members of the Unlimited Club will vote to determine who is crowned the GEICO DPOY. Voting will open on August 19 at 10 a.m. ET, and will close on August 21 at 12 p.m. ET. Members will receive a email once voting opens.

The winner will be announced after the completion of the last game of the season during the Athletes Unlimited Lacrosse Closing Ceremony on August 22.

To join the Unlimited Club and vote on the GEICO Defensive Player of the Year, download the official Athletes Unlimited App and select a Pro, MVP or Captain-level plan under Membership in the menu.

Join the Unlimited Club

Unlock exclusive benefits with your FREE membership


  • Follow Your Favorite Sports
  • Enjoy Virtual Fan Events
  • Chat on the Community Board
  • Vote for Game MVP, Seasonal Awards 
  • Play in the AU Fantasy League

...and more